Welcome to the blog!

This blog is about politics, philosophy and history — and how to do them well, in terms of thinking, writing and teaching.

I’m more interested in how we think than what we think: this blog will not contain a lot of party politics or ideology!

I was an undergraduate at Cambridge and did my PhD in Oxford. I’ve taught at Oxford, at Queen Mary University of London, and at Manchester. I’m now Senior Lecturer in Politics at King’s College London.

I did my PhD in political science (elections), spent some time on political philosophy (democracy, Habermas and rationality), and now concentrate on history of political thought (Hobbes, and methods of interpretation). But I am still interested in all of these fields, and I plan to publish more in each of them.

I’ll cover many of these issues on the blog. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

