Leo Strauss conference, Marburg, July 19-20

I’m giving a paper at a conference on Leo Strauss, on July 19-20. The conference, in Marburg, is called ‘Reading Between The Lines: Leo Strauss and the History of Early Modern Philosophy’. Also speaking are Jonathan Israel, Gianni Paganini, Al Martinich and Edwin Curley, amongst others.

My paper is called ‘The Irrelevance of (Straussian) Hermeneutics’. I don’t normally like titles with parentheses, but I reject the idea of a ‘Straussian hermeneutic’ partly because I reject the usefulness of the classic hermeneutic texts – Schleiermacher, Gadamer, and so on. Indeed, my claims about the irrelevance of a ‘Straussian hermeneutic’ (see also this critique of mine) is less important than my comments on the irrelevance of hermeneutics more generally. I reckon we can get far more useful guidance elsewhere on how to interpret texts. People who’ve been following the blog should have an idea of where I think we should look!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Rob Howse

     /  July 6, 2013

    Looking forward to reading your paper-I’ll be attending the conference. Have you seen my (not so recent) Philosophy and Rhetoric article about Strauss’s hermeneutics?

    Reply
    • Blau, Adrian

       /  July 7, 2013

      Looking forward to meeting you in Marburg, Rob.

      To my embarrassment, I haven’t yet read your article. I will do my best to read it in the one day I have in between my holiday and flying to Germany!

      Reply
  2. Rob Howse

     /  July 11, 2013

    Enjoy the holiday! It will be great to meet you and chat in Marburg.
    Rob

    Reply
  3. Hello,

    I’m interested in Strauss and looking for like minded people. Do you know if there will be another Reading Between the Lines conference in 2014?

    Reply
    • Hello Philip,

      This was a one-off conference, I believe.

      However, there will be a book of the conference papers which I believe will be published later this year, or next year. I will post more information about the book when I have it.

      Reply
  4. It’s a pity I missed again attending a major conference on Strauss and to contribute myself some results.

    Reply
  1. Where Leo Strauss grew up | BlauBlog
  2. Gadamer’s God-awful account of science | BlauBlog

Leave a Reply

